October 18, 2009

Antipollution fault

Posted in Problems tagged , , at 11:24 by my207

Today the multifunction display made the terrifying *beeep* and announced an antipollution fault (mileage is 65.990 km). The engine kept running fine, cannot notice anything different. Had the car for a stop a couple of hours, then started it again, and still the error persists. Googled a little and it seems there are a million (almost) causes of this error.

I decided to take the car on the highway, going 120 km/h in 4th gear @ approx. 3.500 RPM. I drove about 10 km this way, then stopped the car at a gas station. When I started the car, the error message was gone! Since this is a 1.4 HDi there is no particle filter (FAP) to clean, so why this error occurred I don’t really know (and this worries me somewhat – I like to know the root cause of problems).

This week I had a vacation, so I drove only very short trips where the car really didn’t warm up completely. Tomorrow I am going back to work, and I will do my usual highway pendling trip. I hope I don’t see this error again, but I will let you know.

12 Comments »

  1. todd said,

    Hi there, i’m having the same problem on my 207 1.6 vti… the engine cut out and the anti pollution light stays on, i’m wondering how is your car now and is there anything can fix this problem?

    Thanks
    Todd

  2. my207 said,

    Hi! Sorry to hear about your car problem. If you tried driving your car for 5-10 minutes at high revs (not in the reds though) and it didn’t clean the anti pollution filter, I think you need to take your car for a professional repair. My 207 is doing good :-) except for one problem I have had before – the speed pilot sometimes refuses to work.

  3. todd said,

    Very nice to hear that your 207 is doing good. i couldn’t even rev the engine over 2000 rpm because of the engine cut out by the ecu, the car could only run between 10-15km/h while the check engine light and the anti pollution beep were on.
    It was very dangerous that night i was about 60km away from home so i called and tow the car to Peugeot Dealer immediately, until now it’s been 5 days they said they’re changing the Variable Valve Lift Motor for the car (:-) i don’t know what that is) i hope the car will be fine, it’s a great little car except for this common problem.

  4. Jaye Hughes said,

    I have had the same problem with my Peugeot 207 1.6 HDi. Bought the car in Aug 2010 with 4800 miles on clock. Problem started in summer 2011, had it serviced in the August, no fault shown on diagnostics. It continued to do this very intermittently over following year, mainly on short local journeys. Took it in for service this August, again no fault showed on diagnostics. In September 2012 problem got worse, stopping once on busy motorway and 5 times in one journey on busy dual carriage way. Took it straight to servicce centre at my local Peugeot dealer and lo and behold now its out of warranty, they said it needed a new filter and a new fuel pressure sensor at the cost of £393!
    Got it ‘fixed’ by 2nd Oct and travelling to Scotland last week it again lost power on M6 THREE times. Not a very happy bunny!!

    • todd said,

      Hi Jaye, sorry to hear about this problem of your 207.
      I also had the lost power problem from the anti pollution fault code in June 2012, took it to the dealer had the Variable Valve Lift Motor and the Engine air filter changed. and also i did a search on the internet about this, some people said it’s because the sensor in the Catalytic Converter/Exhaust gets dirty and requires cleaning. They recommended a product call CataClean (£15 ebay) which will get rid of this problem of 207 and i tried it right after i got the car back from my local dealer and the car’s running fine since June 2012, touch wood. I’m going to use it again every 4 months as the bottle said.
      Maybe you can also give it a try see if it helps.

      • Terry C said,

        Hi Todd and Jaye
        Just bought a secondhand 2007 207 1.6HDI sport with 41k on the clock, got the car home and I’m well impressed by the “pocket rocket” ( for a diesel) however on the second day of owning it the anti pollution light and beep of death came up. Had it before on my 407 company car so didn’t worry too much, however in less than 50 miles it has conked out 4 times and won’t go above 3k revs. I received a warranty with the car but as usual not worth the paper it’s written on, as it doesn’t cover the PDF. Does the problem go away with motorway driving as I have to use the car from Bristol to Manchester, so if that’s the case I will live with it?
        I have heard that 2 stroke oil in the diesel can improve this problem as it lowers fuel consumption and makes the engine quieter and lubricates the fuel pump. A few links on Google when you put in 2 stroke oil in diesel

      • Jaye said,

        The problem mainly happened on short non motorway journeys until October when it lost power on M6 three times in the space of one junction. Have just drove to Scotland again, round trip of 460 miles, no problems. Got back to home town, stopped at Asda for few bits and it did it again 3 mins into my journey home.

  5. William said,

    Hi I had the same problem and it was the sensor on the manifold that was faulty, I had it replaced and it has been running smoothly ever since. That was a year ago

    Hope this help.

  6. Paul said,

    Problem on the 207 1.4 hdi is the eve valve gets clogged and needs cleaning out. You can also drive the car at high revs in third for fair distance. This is supposed to start a cleaning process controlled by the eve. Basically crud in the engine is burnt by heat in the engine.

  7. rhulie said,

    M also getting De same messages of ant pollution, from 2013/08/17,n De car just stop

  8. Tina said,

    My 207 has done it twice now, first time i was on my own travelling on a dual carriage way n going through the Conwy tunnel and it cut out, luckily i managed to get out of there and get the car off the rd only just, Had a valve replaced so didn’t think it would happen again then today on same dual carriage way it cut out again luckily this time we could pull into a service station as had our baby in car with us! We managed to restart the car and get home safely but now I’m worried about driving it on my own :(


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

